The Seven Friends I am Thankful For

Posted: March 19, 2013 in Friendship
Tags: , , ,

freedigitalphotos.net  This week I’m coming off March Break and I’m feeling pretty thankful for my friends.  My friends are awesome.  They are beautiful, talented, fun, caring, spontaneous, selfless, and adventurous.  Over the years I’ve been lucky to have gathered some great ones and I couldn’t begin to talk about all of them.  And, since this is a top seven list, I can only talk about “seven” of them.  Really, the way this is being posted I am talking about more than you think.  This is not meant to be taken as a slight against anyone (like the time I said I was hanging out with my favourite family and I realized my actual family thought I was coming to a family function…. ) but a chance for me to celebrate some of my amazing friends.  Hopefully, you can see some of your friends in this too!

 So, without further ado- The Seven Friends I am Thankful For:

 1.  The Sister Friend- no, this is not like being a sister-wife!  There are some people you connect with in a way that goes beyond friendship; they totally feel like one of the family.  No matter what distance comes between you, you have someone who a part of you. I loved looking back on my life and clearly seeing this someone in every stage of my life, who didn’t have to be (like family), they chose to be.  That makes me feel loved and I can see raising kids together, loosing hair together… many more stages to come!

 2. The Friend You Can Talk on the Phone Forever With– sometimes there are friends that you never run out of things to talk about with- even 20 years down the road.  I’m thankful for this friend because they always make me laugh and the depth of our friendship is amazing because of the topics we have discussed over the years.  We’ve been through hilarious moments and heartache.  I know I’ll be talking about random nonsense with this one for many years to come!

3.  The Honest Friend- Honesty is the cornerstone of any relationship, especially a friendship.  You need someone who is going to tell you the truth, even when it hurts.  I’m lucky to have one friend who will always tell me things straight- even if it’s hard.  The realness and strength of this friendship is amazing and I looking back, I don’t know if I trust anyone more than him.

 4.  The Opposite Friend- this friend is fun because no one expects you to be friends with them because you are, seemingly, too different.  But, it’s true what they say- opposites attract.  I have gone on some crazy, spontaneous and hilarious adventures with this friend.  We’ve even lived together (and survived)!  I like to think we are very similar, even though to the outside we appear very different.  I admire how this person loves people and goes out of their way to show that love.  I like to think I have a bit of this too.

5.  The Surprise Friend- This is the friend that over time develops and you didn’t see it coming.  It’s a surprise- and such a welcome surprise at that.  This person was always a good friend, but over the years this person has become one of my people- someone I couldn’t imagine my life without.  We’ve both grown over the years, and thankfully we’ve grown together and closer.  I’m so blessed to have this friend in my life.

6.  The Drop Everything and Take Care of You Friend- I’m lucky to have a few friends like this.  From dying of the flu and having someone really go out of their way to bring my apple juice, to without question taking me in when I had a scary apartment to go home to, I am so blessed.  I’m amazed how these people think of me before they even think of themselves.  I’m totally lucky.

7.  The Crazy Adventure Friend- This is the friend that it doesn’t matter where you are or what you do, you always have a blast.  Whether it’s playing in the park, or in the trees, or giggling when one of you has a migraine- this is the person I want in my life forever. Because I know even when we are old and our adventure becomes racing (lol- or shuffling past) each other to pick up the mail from the mailbox at the old folk’s home, we’ll still be smiling and laughing together.  This person makes me laugh, and is a person you can’t help but want to be around.

I could go on and on, but this is supposed to be a short post!  Family, I’m sorry- I love you too- but today is a FRIENDS shout out- so I’m following the rules!

QUESTION- What friend are you thankful for?  CLICK the SPEECH BUBBLE at the top of this post to COMMENT! 

Comments
  1. seaRN says:

    Sure sounds like #7 would make a fantastic hubby!
    😀

  2. Karen says:

    I love it when no matter how much time has past, you can pick up right where you left off with someone and no one is upset about all the time that’s gone by. Just accept that life is busy and move on. I also love when my friends have no problem that I love to hang out with my family and they are happy to join us!

Leave a Reply

