Seven Hymns that Explain what Easter Means to Me

Posted: April 2, 2013 in Easter, Faith, Jesus
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

In light of Easter, I thought I would share something that is a little more personal.  My faith is a big part of my life, and because of the makeup of friends I have on facebook, I try not to be the person that bombards people with verses, quotes and Christian-eese.  I know I have built some great relationships with people based on respect, love, and trust and I usually let my life speak my faith (I don’t always do a good job at it- but I try!)

You don’t have to agree with this.  You don’t even have to read this.  But, as my friend (or blog follower), I hope that you’ll read this with an open mind, because I love you all and this has transformed my life, not because I was indoctrinated as a kid, but because I have searched with all my heart and have found this to be true.

This, I’m sure, could create many debates and comments, and I welcome that in a private message, because, that’s not the goal or the intent of this post.  The purpose of this post is to share what Easter means to me, because it is so much more than something I believe in, and if we’re friends, you should know that.  Not in an “I’m trying to convert you, or let’s debate this” sort of way.  But, because this to me is awesome, life changing news.

 1. Jesus Christ, I think upon your sacrifice- you became nothing, poured out to death.  Many times I’ve wondered at your gift of life… (Matt Redman 1996)

2. Jesus paid it all.  All to him I owe.  Sin had left a chrisom stain- He washed it white as snow.  (Evelyn M. Hall- 1865)

3. What can wash away my sins? Nothing but the blood of Jesus! (Robert Lowry 1876)

4. He was pierced for our transgressions, He was crushed for our sins.  The punishment that brought us peace was upon Him.  By His wounds we are healed. We are healed by your sacrifice, by the life that you gave, we are healed for You paid the price, by Your grace we are saved.  (Mac Powell 2007)

 5. Up from the Grave he arose!  He arose a victor from the dark domain and he lives forever with the saints to reign.  He arose!  He arose!  Hallelujah, Christ arose! (Robert Lowry- 1800s?)

6.  I serve a risen Saviour!*  I know that He is living no matter what men may say! The Hope of all who seek him, the help of all who find… You ask me how I know he lives?  He lives within my heart!  (Ackley 1933)

7. When I survery the wondrous cross, on which the Prince of Glory died.  My richest gain I count but loss, and pour contempt on all my pride.  Love so amazing, so divine, demands my soul, my life, my all.  (Isaac Watts 1707)

When I Survey the Wondrous Cross (freedigitalphotos.net)

When I Survey the Wondrous Cross (freedigitalphotos.net)

*This is the one thing that separates Christianity from any other “religion”- My Jesus is alive!

Romans 10:9 (NLT) If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.

CLICK on the SPEECH BUBBLE to SHARE your FAVOURITE EASTER HYMNS!

Leave a Reply

