So, I don’t know about you, but I always seem to be insanely busy!  Life gets crazy and it seems like I put myself on hold, struggling to get through the tasks of the day.  This is no way to live!  Just surviving is something they do on LOST (although how the girls never grow leg hair I’ll never know… ).

I have vowed to make 7 quick “enhancements” to my life.  They take very time or money or even effort, and although simple and cheesy, I’m hopeful they’ll make a positive impact.

7.  Drink More Water- H2O has been praised for its abilities to cleanse and to hydrate, to flush away toxins and keep your skin glowing and your breath from stinking.  (See http://www.webmd.com/diet/features/6-reasons-to-drink-water) I vow to drink more of this substance.  I bring a water bottle to school and I’m going to add Crystal Light or a tiny bit of juice to the container after lunch to ensure I finish the second bottle by the end of the work day.

www.digitalphotos.net 6.  Up Your Oral Hygiene- I made fun of this, my sister’s new year’s resolution, but when I thought about it, it makes sense.  We all could probably do better with our teeth!  Up the anty!

Brush for two minutes?  Now add floss and alcohol free mouthwash to your routine.  It takes mere seconds, but the results are sparkly, smooth chompers!

5. Moisturize.  Does anyone else feel like winter has sucked all the good stuff out of their skin?  I want my skin to glow and feel like “ah…” This fix takes less than a minute when you step out of the shower!  I always forget this step and I have the most amazing Clinique body butter…

4.  Stretch While Catching up on TV.  I love watching mindless TV after a long day- the thought of moving off the couch and doing anything but stare at a screen seems overwhelming some days!  But, it has taken a toll on my body- I’m not nearly as flexible as I used to be, and my body gets tight so easily.  So- since I have no extra time, I vow to do yoga and stretches while watching TV!

3.  Memorize Something Inspirational.  Words have the ability to build a you up or to tear you down, so I’m going to try to memorize passages that encourage and build me up.  This not only will challenge my mind and keep it busy on those long drives, but will life me up and help me remain in Him.  I think I’ll start with James…

2. Do One Fun Thing Everyday.  One of my favourite people and I have this thing where we challenge each other to do just this.  Often as humans we get caught up in planning an adventure, and it becomes a reward for when busy-ness stops.  But it never stops, people!  Start having little adventures and laugh each and every day!  Whether it’s messaging a friend in Pig Latin, going skydiver, or wearing fun underwear- there is probably something you could do to make your more than ho-hum.

1. Smile More. There are a million (well maybe about 10) reasons why smiling is good for you!    This is what I need to do way more of.  It’s funny (well actually sad…)  if you have known me for a long time, you would know how positive and encouraging I was.  I smiled all the time and oozed fun and positivity.  Lol, but life has made me cynical over the years… and I wonder if the negativity and complaining has take over…

Hmm… I’m wondering if all these things will bring back the fun, happy, and energetic Emily…  I hope so!

So there you have it- a few practical things to do to enhance your day and make it way more fun!

HOW do you ENHANCE YOUR DAY?  CLICK on the SPEECH BUBBLE at the top of this post to share your answer!

Comments
  1. What a wonderful post! It gave me some positive ideas and filled me with a positive vibe. Before I share my list, here are some comments on your list:

    7. Drinking More Water – What helped me start drinking more water was to spend money on a Brita. The idea of fresh and clean water makes it more appealing. Adding a bit of juice is a great idea. I’m not a big fan of crystal light because they use artificial sweeteners but I wedge of lemon or lime is alternative and can be scrunched into a bottle.

    6. Oral Hygiene – A good oral routine gives me confidence too. I find that instead of using a toothbrush for the recommended 3 months, I buy a new one every month. This keeps it fresh in my mind. I also like to try different brands of toothpaste for variety. Also eating a teaspoon of cinnamon is good for your breath!

    5. Moisturize – I am a guy and I don’t do this. I want to, but it seems that only women know what to use. I’ve tried basic moisturizing lotion on my body and felt sticky. I doubt I have the money to go out and splurge at the Clinique counter. What are good brands and things to look for in a body moisturizer? Another question, should one use a different moisturizer for the face than the rest of the body?

    4. Stretch while watching TV – I watch things on my computer mostly. I spend a lot of time on the computer. It’s recommended that every 50 minutes you take 10 minutes to stretch and walk around. Yoga is one of the exciting new ideas I have for my life too.

    3. Memorize Something Inspirational – I’m great at paraphrasing things, but not always reciting word for word. When I was a teen I kept a separate journal of quotes I liked. I think I might start another one up. Another good habit is to give yourself a pep talk when you are alone and away from distractions. Prayer is another great way of focusing on positive things to be grateful for. Lots of times we pray about everything in our lives. I’d like to make it a goal to have one prayer in my day that is exclusively about gratitude.

    Also, I like the idea of memorizing inspirational Bible verses. I cringed when you said James (only because it’s often quoted out of context ha ha). I would definitely focus my own memorization on the Beatitudes in Matthew 7 (or is it 5) and DEFINITELY the book of Romans!!

    2. Do One Fun Thing Everyday – We do a lot of things in our day and it really is all a choice. I once heard a quote saying “We do all these things — but what is the point if we are not happy”. That said, I was researching some self-help stuff a while ago and one of the things in many peer-support groups (ie. Alcoholics Anonymous) is this thing called ‘Just for Today’ and one of the things listed on it is “Today I will do something I do not want to do, but do it anyway” … this helps me get through the dishes!

    1. Smile More – This is a great one! I used to smile a lot when I was younger. Recently, I smile less, but now, especially when I’m out and about I make an effort to smile. It is a great way of engaging people. One day, I was in the grocery store, and I must have been in a serious state of mind because a little old lady came up to me and said “Smile, life’s not that bad.” Ever since then I make it a point to smile at the world, even when it’s not smiling back.

    As for 7 things I’d like to do to improve my life:

    7. Listen to my body – I have a chronic illness and sometimes that means I need to rest. Sometimes, it means that I can’t stay up late and I need to just shut my eyes and get sleep. Listening to my body is important.

    6. Switch from Coffee to Tea – I did this a few weeks ago. For me tea is less stimulating and agitating. It’s also a great way to “feel” my British heritage.

    5. Be intentional with what music I listen to – It hit me one day that I just wasn’t in a good emotional state and that listening to a certain artist would not be a good idea. So I put on the Beatles and my mood improved by a good measure.

    4. Stop obsessing over my blog stats – A couple years ago when I started my blog I had 60+ views a day, now it’s around 10. I have always said that I write my poetry for myself and I need to believe that in order to keep writing good poetry.

    3. Spend quality time with my cats – This is something I do that makes a big difference. I spend time talking to my cat and giving her affection. Her eyes show such appreciation and it relaxes me and makes me feel connected.

    2. Be open to opportunities with new people – We’ve all been hurt by people in life and so many times this leads us to build walls and not to trust. It is my vow, that no matter how many times I am disappointed or it’s not reciprocal or I get really hurt that I will never give up on people and always approach people with an open and soft compassionate heart.

    1. Make do with what I have – I’m sure we could all make a list of things we want. Perhaps we even can say we need them. I am not a fan of this. I think of how grateful I am for what I do have, but realize I’m just a steward of the stuff, you can’t take it with you. I think of all the people who are less fortunate than me in the world and offer prayers for them. Instead of going and spending money for new things (it’s a proven fact that the joy of shopping reaches it’s pinnacle as you pay for it and bring it home, but once it is out of the box, the joy drops pretty quickly), I’d like to make do with what I have.

    Thanks for a wonderful post Emily!

    Your friend,
    Ryan

Leave a Reply

