Seven Things I Miss about Graphite

Posted: June 11, 2013 in Camp, fun, Graphite, Lake, Summer, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Image

7.  The Tuck Shop -Hands down the best place to get your sugar fix and to get to know the campers.  I miss my Salt and Vinegar Crew (made up of 10 year old boys) and all the 5 cent candies (including the pears and strawberries which you can never find outside of camp!)

ImageAmes and I at the Banquet 2001

6.  The People- from Boyd and Patti, without two of the most hardworking and genuine people you’ll ever meet, to my now best friends, special people I’ve met along the way and instantly bonded with forever, to the campers, (a few who have become dear friends and “little sisters”) the bonds made at this camp are more than you could have even hope for in a lifetime.

5.  Prayer time- I loved from 9:00-9:10ish, where we would divide into small groups of 2-3 and pray for the camp, for the weather, for God to move.  For those ten-ish minutes all you could hear was all this chatter, but the cool thing was it was all to chatter to God about our common goal and desire for the camp;  An indescribable and amazing feeling and sense of purpose.

ImageTeen Staff 2006

4.  The Movie Skit (and other crazy adventures)- from lactose intolerant volcanoes, to the time Sarah P, Kelly and I got to run quiz, to serious dramas- I had so much fun and gained so much confidence by being involved in this side of camp.  And the tears streaming down your face from laughing so hard has to be the best feeling in the world.

3.  The orange tube.  Need I say more?

 2. Wide games/mud pit- Again- no explanation needed- and when the two of these were combined.  Genius

1. The Lake (and Slippery Rock!)  If I had to pick my absolute favourite place in the world- it would be Graphite Lake.  So many fun water games, quiet times, good chats, sunbathing (with Sabrina!)  and always the epic battleship game with the teens.

Team Aunt Em and Uncle Adam

Team Aunt Em and Uncle Adam

This is not an extensive list.  Campfires, Box Head, Star Gazing, The buses arriving, Epic Pranks, Weekends, Trips to Town, Dressing up for Banquets…. all memories I’ll hold in my heart forever!

CLICK on the SPEECH BUBBLE- what are your favourite Graphite Memories?

Leave a Reply

