I’m sure we’d all agree that eating healthy is so important to making your skin glow, your energy to be up, and for you to live a longer, healthier life.  But, sometimes it’s hard to always make healthy choices because there a lot of things that gets in the way of eating healthily.

I’m always on the go and my job can be crazy and all consuming at times.  Sometimes getting anything into me is a feat.  But, I feel better when I eat well.

Over the years I’ve found ways to stretch my budget, not waste food and buy/make really healthy things.  Yes, there have been some sad moments in the A & W parking lot- but I’m human!

Eating on the Go- Such a Challenge!

Eating on the Go- Such a Challenge!

So, here are my Top Seven Tips for Eating Healthy on the Go:

  1. Schedule a time for grocery shopping every week.  When life gets busy, it’s easy to get caught up in the craziness.  If you have built a time into your schedule for groceries and make sure you observe that time every week, you’ll always have food available.  I used to go Sunday’s, but they were hit or miss depending on what I was doing.  So now, all I do now on Monday nights is blog, cook, and grocery shop.  That way I’m ready for the week ahead!
  2. Plan your grocery list.  It’s important to not only plan out your grocery list to make sure you have healthy options for the week, but also to maximize your food spending.  If you plan things out, you won’t waste food.  For example, if you get excited and buy that green salad mix, and lunch meat- those are two things that need to be eaten up ASAP.  No one likes soggy spinach (especially not me and my texture thing- ick!) and lunch meat is only good for 3 days or so.  So, choose one of the other.  Also, with weird things, plan how you can use something more than once, whether it’s chicken for dinner and then chicken salad the next day.  This is especially helpful with weird ingredients.  I buy green onions for my tabboluleh recipe, but I only use like 2 strands.  So, when I get my ingredients for my favourite potluck contribution, I either make my fresh spring rolls or my walnut, goat cheese sandwich, because I can use up those scallions.   Do this and you’ll rarely waste food- I’m weird with texture (lol, ask my mom) so this helps avoid having to force yourself to eat a soggy cucumber (which as an adult paying for your on things may be a low point you may reach).
  3. Plan/Track your Meals.  Download a great app- mynetdiary.com for $4 and you’re able to keep track of your food and goals so easily- it even syncs to your computer.  It also keeps you keeping track of what you are eating- it’s amazing!  Also, if you put in your meals the day before and pack your lunch bag accordingly you’ll start to only eat what you are suppose to.  Or, if a notebook works better for you,  try that.
  4. Buy in Bulk…but  only if it’s your Fav!  At the grocery store it is so tempting to by something just because it’s on sale, but, if you don’t love it, you end up stuck with with weird, no name cans in your cupboards that you will only end up in a moment of desperation.  But, if you see something you use a lot of- buy out the store, girl!  I always do the rounds of the store and when I see frozen veggies on sale, I buy like 4 bags.  Same with the tuna that I love.   Or my dill crunchem  pickles. My vegan protein powder was on sale and I picked up 2 tubs (and would have gotten more if they had more left!)- dropped $100 there along, but ended up saving $25 per tub- worth it, because I use it regularly.
  5. Always have a back up plan- Whether that’s having Lean Cuisines on hand, granola bars stashed at work, or knowing which fast food item you are going to pick up on the go- have a plan ready!  Life gets busy, sometimes you don’t have a cooler to wheel behind you 24/7.  Sometimes you have to eat out, sometimes you are too tired to get a meal ready- eating healthy is suppose to help your body- and I’m sure the added stress of trying to do it every split second could be quite stressful!
  6. Cook Ahead!  As I mentioned, Mondays are my cooking days.  I have the Looneyspoons cookbook- which, if you have not tried, you must!  I usually make a soup for the week, something like pizza or fresh rolls, and a bean salad or something.  That way I have something to grab when things are busy.  Instead of pulling out a recipe and having to spend the time prepping and cooking it- there is a stuffed pepper in the fridge with your name on it!  I also freeze as much as I can- that way you have something for later- and a variety of somethings.  I had a roommate in university who’d make a casserole- and she’s make enough that she had it for dinner than night, lunch and then dinner the next day… etc… etc…  I couldn’t do that!  My life can be boring/mundane enough- Freeze for variety!
  7. Frozen can be your friend- So, not only should you freeze your meals- you can use frozen food as a healthy and quick option for dinner.  Frozen vegetables have come a long way, and since they are flash frozen, they have way more nutrients than some of the “fresh” produce.   Steam them for a few minutes and you are done!  Also, I started buying frozen fish.  Not the cheapy kind, but the PC kind in a box with 2 fillets for about $8.  And these are the plain fish fillets- no funny business and marinades on them!  And they are quick!  I get home from work about 4:30-5 and when I get home I put the fish in a cold bath.  Then after 30 minsof dethawing, I drop the fish in the pan, the frozen veg in the pop and with in 9-10 mins an awesome feast!  Quick and tasty- and no time to munch around!

Hopefully this helps and you are inspired to eat healthy no matter how crazy things get!

CLICK THE SPEECH BUBBLE and ANSWER- What do you think is the biggest challenge in eating healthy when things get busy?

Leave a Reply

